hoodwink.d enhanced

Fri Jun 30

Rails Core

Nicholas S. - but srsly, upgrade to 1.1.4
Nicholas S. - asam
Nicholas S. - as soon as mossiple

Wed Jun 28

Tuftespace

Pioneer Plaque Redesign Since gravity is a universal law, is this image funny across the cosmos?

Sweeping-katy-off-her-feet

Karl sweeping Katy off her feet

Sun Jun 25

Sexed Robots


Sat Jun 24

It’s like Windows XP outside today.

why the lucky stiff

Fri Jun 23

Pdi

PDI” — Dave Thomas

Tue Jun 20

Lisa-plrds-10

Sat Jun 17

Jim Weirich – Spam Terminator


“I hope he had a good day. I certainly did.”
  • Revision #70 by Josh Susser: oops (09:28)
  • Revision #69 by Josh Susser: POLYMORPHIC SELF-REFERENTIAL HAS_MANY :THROUGHTAKE THAT, SUCKAS! (09:11)

Watching the RailsDay commit logs

Fri Jun 16

Rails core

Tobias L. - hey does anyone know if i can still enter railsday
Nicholas S. - registration is closed afaik
Tobias L. - do you think I could persuade him? to let in one more team?
Nicholas S. - *smells corruption* ;)
Rick O. - it's all about the hamiltons baby
Lisa-plrds-12

Thu Jun 15

Bummer, looks like they misspelled your name.
“Chad” rather than “Chade-”. Weird.

Marcel on the print release of Rails Recipes

Net Present Value of a Year of Life


If you gain 8 hours now, what is that worth in the future?
Magical Release Quality has been implemented.

Pyro 1.0

Wed Jun 14

Lisa-plrds-11

Enjoy in moderation.

Small print in a Hershey’s bar commercial

Tue Jun 13

Squirrel-in-sweater

Squirrel in a sweater

Sun Jun 11

The Headington Shark


“The shark was to express someone feeling totally impotent and ripping a hole in their roof out of a sense of impotence and anger and desperation…. It is saying something about CND, nuclear power, Chernobyl and Nagasaki.”
Stephanie-in-galveston

Galveston

Sat Jun 10

The DHH girl is here — Mary. Real lady. Respect.

Stoyan Zhekov

Fri Jun 9

Lisa-plrds-11

Song Fight


A title is given, songs are submitted, the public votes on their favorite, the artists cavort, bicker, and blather on the message boards. A new fight every week.

Thu Jun 8

37signals

Sam S. - I'm starting to think you might like belugas
Marcel M. - projectionist: a belugablog
Sam S. - tumbeluga
Baby-beluga

Beluga and baby

Beluga Cam


The Arctic Canada habitat at the Vancouver Aquarium.
Lisa-plrds-09

Transparent Screens


Wed Jun 7

Beluga

Beluga

I guess over time we became ducks.

D.C. Berman in I’m Getting Back Into Getting Back Into You

Dom-tree

project.ioni.st DOM structure visualized

Marketers profit because consumers buy what they want, not what they need.

Seth Godin in All Marketers Are Liars

Tue Jun 6

Mr-jamis-buck

Mr. Jamis Buck

Remote Buddy


Do more stuff with your Apple Remote.

Mon Jun 5

Ethan Winer’s Cello Rondo


A song made of 37 separate cello parts.

Rails core

Mike C. - *svn ups*
Jamis B. - (dons marcel's hat) I believe you mean "svns up" ;)

Fri Jun 2

Tip Reading Object Details in the Rails Console

By default, the Rails console (irb) echoes an #inspect dump of the result of every expression you type. This is usually what you want. But sometimes if you’re trying to look at a complex object, it can get hard to read. For those times, try:

>> puts the_object.to_yaml

The #to_yaml call gives you a readable representation of the object and “puts” returns nil, which means the console will only echo “nil” and not the object’s contents.